top of page

A one-page devotional thought.  

  • Writer's pictureGlen Pitts


Life is made up of seasons. Each involves fluidity, movement, and change. Nothing is rigid. Nothing is constant.

The Bible likewise unfolds in a series of seasons. Between the first and last verses of Scripture most Bible scholars identify seven seasons or seven distinct periods of time in which God worked in a particular way to bring about his desired plan in the reconciliation of man to himself. These are commonly known as innocence; conscience; human government; kings; prophets; grace; and the millennium. Each season begins with a promise, includes a test, and ends with blessing or judgment. These seasons cover the full period of time from the age that was, to the age that is, to the age that is to come. The Bible is a series of seasons.

In the natural world we also have “seasons”- Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall. They cover times of fallow ground, planting, growth, sowing, harvest, and death – each bringing their own unique characteristics of cold, heat, rain, wind, snow, etc. Who can deny the seasons of the natural world?

The Christian calendar likewise has seasons in the life of the church community that reflect their own message of triumph and hope. Christmas celebrates Christ’s coming into the world to be our Saviour. During the Easter season we remember Jesus’ death, burial and triumphant resurrection that gives rise to our hope of eternal life. Various groups highlight various seasons to celebrate their journey of faith. (Lent; Passover; etc.)

There are also seasons in the journey of life. From birth, to infancy, to childhood, on into adolescence, youth, young adult, adult, aging, old age, and eventually death. Each season is punctuated with its own unique set of challenges and adventure. Have you ever visited a senior’s home at lunch time? You can hear a pin drop. It’s polar opposite to the ruckus of a high school cafeteria during the same hour – but such are the seasons of life.

In our spiritual development we likewise travel through seasons. Seasons of spiritual birth, infancy, immaturity, growth, decline, disappointment, waywardness, correction, sickness, healing, productivity, influence, usefulness and more. Some of them joyful while others are shrouded with pain. Such is the journey of life.

How great it is to know that in every season, at every stage, stands a faithful God ready to help us. “O Lord, you have searched me and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways.” (Psalm 139:1-3) “I was young and now I am old,” said the Psalmist. “Yet I have never seen the righteous forsaken or their children begging bread.” (Psalm 37:25)

Be blessed my friend.

Glen (Pitts)

The Barnabas Group / Loads of Love

I Corinthians 13:11; I Samuel 12:2; Luke 2:34-52

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page